banner

EVENTS

Pond dipping

Throughout the year we organise a variety of events including guided walks, work parties and group activities. On rare occasions there may be a late change to the plan. You can always contact us beforehand if you wish.

LATEST EVENT POSTERS

(Any help with displaying our posters is greatly appreciated).

pdf logo Trees in Leaf (19th Aug)

pdf logo Summer Workshops

WILDLIFE WALKS

southern hawker

Walks start on Otley Road at the Public Footpath, opposite the lay by near St James Church. The walks are led by the warden and the duration is about two hours unless otherwise stated.

TREES IN LEAF

Saturday 19th August 10.00am

BERRIES AND WHAT EATS THEM

Saturday 16th September 10.00am

BIRDS ON THE MOVE

Saturday 21st October 8.00am

Come and have a look at the birds that are leaving us and the ones coming to join us for winter.

REMEMBERENCE DAY

Saturday 11th November 10.45am

EVENING ROOST REVISITED

Saturday 11th November 3.00pm

CHRISTMAS (P)RESERVE

Saturday 16th December 2.00pm

Come and join the last walk of the year and celebrate the festive season.

SCHOOL HOLIDAY EVENTS

Spider Club Pond

Thursdays 1.00pm - 3.00pm

(meet at the stone seat on the reserve).

POND DIP

Thursday 3rd August

BUG HUNT

Thursday 10th August

MASK MAKING

Thursday 17th August

BOGGART HUNT

Thursday 24th August

WORKSHOPS

warden

Adult education workshops with Steve Warrillow Denso Marston NR warden, meet at the education centre on the reserve.

10.00am - 2.00pm

DRAGONFLY LARVAE IDENTIFICATION

Saturday 12th August

INTRODUCTION TO VISUAL MIGRATION

Thursday 5th October

INTRODUCTION TO WOODLAND

Thursday 19th October

WINTER BIRD SURVEY

Thursday 16th November, Saturday 18th November

COPPICING

Saturday 9th December

(All events are free, donations are welcome).

CREATIVE WRITING GROUP

Clouds

Come down and do some scribbling, meet at the education centre.

Thursdays 10.00am - 12 noon

  • August 3rd, 17th, 31st.
  • September 14th, 28th
  • October 12th, 26th.
  • November 9th, 23rd.
  • December 7th, 21st.

(All events are free, donations are welcome).

GROUP ACTIVITIES

Pond dipping

On site guided walks and offsite talks have been given to a variety of groups including local schools and other children’s organisations taking enthusiastic advantage of the facility.

Adult group visits have included naturalist groups, church groups, women’s organisations, photographic and history groups, some returning more than once.