banner

EVENTS

Pond dipping

Throughout the year we organise a variety of events including guided walks, work parties and group activities. On rare occasions there may be a late change to the plan. You can always contact us beforehand if you wish.

LATEST EVENT POSTERS

(Any help with displaying our posters is greatly appreciated).

pdf logo Wildlife Walks: Jan-Mar 2018

pdf logo Workshops: Jan-Mar 2018

WILDLIFE WALKS

southern hawker

Walks start on Otley Road at the Public Footpath, opposite the lay by near St James Church. The walks are led by the warden and the duration is about two hours unless otherwise stated.

WINTER BIRDS

Saturday 13th January 10.00am

Join Steve on the reserve for our first walk of the year.

WINTER VERSE/WINTER CREATIVE WRITING

Saturday 10th February 10:00am

Winter verse is 10am to noon, followed by Creative Writing 1pm-3pm

BIRDSONG

Saturday 24th March 10.00am

Come and join Andrew and Steve and listen out for various tweets on the day.

WILDFLOWER WALK

Saturday 14th April 10.00am

The first of 3 walks investigating the wildflowers on the reserve with Harry Allenby.

SPRING VERSE/SPRING CREATIVE WRITING

Saturday 21st April 10.00am

Spring verse is 10am to noon, followed by Creative Writing 1pm-3pm

DAWN CHORUS

Saturday 5th May, please note 4.30am start.

Listen to the birds that will give a glorious first song of the day.

CELEBRATION DAY

Saturday 9th June 1-4pm

Come and join our annual Celebration of the reserve.

WILDFLOWER WALK

Saturday 16th June 10.00am

The second of 3 walks investigating the wildflowers on the reserve with Harry Allenby.

SUMMER VERSE/SUMMER CREATIVE WRITING

Saturday 23rd June 10.00am

Summer verse is 10am to noon, followed by Creative Writing 1pm-3pm

INSECTS ON THE WING

Saturday 14th July 10.00am

WILDFLOWER WALK

Saturday 21st July 10.00am

The third of 3 walks investigating the wildflowers on the reserve with Harry Allenby.

BAT WALK

Date and time TBA

AUTUMN VERSE/AUTUMN CREATIVE WRITING

Saturday 22nd September 10.00am

Autumn verse is 10am to noon, followed by Creative Writing 1pm-3pm

VISMIG

Saturday 13th October 7.30am

Come and have a look at the birds that are leaving us and the ones coming to join us for winter.

EVENING ROOST

Saturday 10th November 4.00pm

CHRISTMAS (P)RESERVE

Saturday 15th December 2-4pm

Come and join the last walk of the year and celebrate the festive season.

WORKSHOPS

warden

Adult education workshops with Steve Warrillow Denso Marston NR warden, meet at the education centre on the reserve.

WINTER TREES

Saturday 20th January 10am-2pm

WINTER BIRDS RECORDING AND FEEDING

Saturday 17th February 10am-2pm

INTRODUCTION TO BIRDS

Wednesday 14th March 1pm-3pm

OWL PELLETS

Wednesday 11th April 1pm-3pm

DAMSELFLY IDENTIFICATION -Adults and larvae

Wednesday 25th April 1pm-3pm

WILDFLOWER IDENTIFICATION with Harry Allenby

Saturday 19th May 10am-2pm

DRAGONFLIES AND DAMSELFLIES

Wednesday 20th June 1pm-3pm

BUTTERFLIES

Wednesday 11th July 1pm-3pm

DRAGONFLIES-Adults and larvae

Saturday 18th August 10am-2pm

INTRODUCTION TO BIRDWATCHING

Saturday 8th September

VISUAL MIGRATION

Thursday 18th October 10am-noon

VISUAL MIGRATION (Follow on from 18th Oct)

Saturday 20th October 8am-10am

OWL PELLETS

Saturday 10th November 10am-2pm

WINTER BIRD SURVEY

Saturday 17th November 10am-2pm

WINTER TREES

Saturday 8th December 10am-2pm

(All events are free, donations are welcome).

GROUP ACTIVITIES

Pond dipping

On site guided walks and offsite talks have been given to a variety of groups including local schools and other children’s organisations taking enthusiastic advantage of the facility.

Adult group visits have included naturalist groups, church groups, women’s organisations, photographic and history groups, some returning more than once.